The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

Sometimes I Hate Being Gay

Posted by Daniel on February 10, 2007

Yes, I said it. I’ll even say it again, because it bears repeating.

Sometimes, I hate being gay.

There are times when I wish I didn’t know about some of the more nasty and cruel lengths some guys will go to in order to even their bitter scores. This particular minority of gay men have an axe to grind with all others who appear to have their collective shit together. And they will stop at nothing to throw the rhinestoned monkey wrench into anything – especially relationships and or friendships – that they, themselves can not otherwise share.

I’ll give you and example. Sing along with me as I know you’ll recognize the tune…

I have what I think are a fantastic group of friends – both in person as well as online. We share everything with each other and have each other’s backs without question. Being the social butterfly that I am, I’m always happy to add new people to the friend’s column. My circle and I do not prejudge, we do not greet someone new with suspition and we treat those around us the way we, ourselves, would like to be treated.

Oh, don’t get me wrong…once you’re in the group, and you do something embarrassing…all bets are off. 😉

For the most part, I am a very trusting man. Sure, I have been known to be a tad on the bitchy side now and then. I do love a nice hot dish of friendly gossip (who doesn’t?). And I can be, on the rare occasion, a bit on the campy side. I’m like a walking Busby Berkley movie.

There are, however, those who absolutely loathe such tight-knit gropus. They have no true friends to speak of, though they do try to meet others. Usually this bears no friendship fruit. If they do manage to somehow make a friend or two, something seems to take over in their brains that makes them need to be the “best friend”.

It’s an easy recipe, really…

1-half – Glenn Close (Fatal Attraction)

1-half – Julia Roberts (My Best Friend’s Wedding)

1-sprinkle – The Grinch (How The Grinch Stole Christmas)

1-dash – Bill O’Reilly (Scum Sucker Supreme)

1-pinch – B. J. (Internet Homewrecker)

Mix well. Fold into existing groups. Dollop into hot canola oil. Stand back!!

As much experience as I’ve had in my many years with friendship-busters, it surprises me still that they can have such an effect on me.

Recently, I’ve been establishing several new strong friendships online. (hey, you gotta try new things in life…right??) It’s been going pretty well and I’ve enjoyed that learning period of “getting to know you”. The experience of this new medium has been, as a whole, worth it.

Now, enter the schemers disguised as friends. The proverbial wolf in cheap clothing.

Without going into all the gory details, I lost a very good friend yesterday after someone who wanted to be included (but wasn’t, I thought) decided he wanted to be “C”s favorite friend. I was apparently in the way. The shit hit the fan, lies were told, friend never had a chance to actually rationalize the fraudulent data, I was out.

My friend (ex, I suppose) was duped by this “Single White Female” queer into thinking everyone else around him was no good. The end result is that the scheming bitch won…I lost.

I feel so Veronica in “Heathers”. Only this time, I was pushed in front of the moving car by “Martha Dumptruck”!!

Bottom line…the schemers who can’t make friends seem to excel at brainwashing some of them.

At this point I’m rather torn.

Just who should I be more upset with?

The phony piece of shit who duped, hacked, cut and pasted his way into shoving me out?

Or my friend, who was apparently caught at a weak minded moment and actually fell for this?

Or…maybe I shouldn’t be upset with them at all. Perhaps I should blame myself. I did, after all, somehow allow this to happen.

I suppose I could simply say, “Fine ‘C’…you want him as a friend…you can have him. I’ll still be here when the true nature of this person finally does appear to you.”

But I can’t say that. He no longer answers my calls or messages. I loved this friend as a true friend should. And I am worried for him.

I hate being torn.

That’s why sometimes…just sometimes…I really hate being gay.

3 Responses to “Sometimes I Hate Being Gay”

  1. Olga said

    good blog

  2. Smiley said

    I agree with Doug. Sorry this happened. 😦

  3. Doug said

    Somehow I think the same would happen if you were straight. People are people, and sometimes they’re just plain stupid.

Leave a Reply

 
