The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

Caution: Gay Construction Ahead – Part 12 – The Cartoon Not-Work

Posted by Daniel on September 4, 2007

Guess Who’s Who…Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the yard…bang, another construction project appears.

This one sort of snowballed on us, though. What started out as a simple project to complete a previous one has turned into a ten-foot by 3 1/2 foot addition that, so far, weighs in at nearly 2 1/2 tons!!

Let me back up a bit. There was a certain patio project back in May of last year that involved laying bricks and pounding sand. You can see that post here.

During this past weekend, Seth and I decided to finish that little area up. And we did a pretty good job of it, too. No injuries, crying or problems. We even extended the brickwork enough towards the deck so that there would be a place for the bar-b-que. You would think that would have been enough, but noooooooo!! While finishing it up, I – for some reason – mentioned how cool it would be to have a section raised up for a nice bistro set/conversation area.

This is the point where, when working with me, a person is required to tell me to shut up. Unfortunately, Seth hadn’t learned that little pearl of wisdom up to that point. This would also explain why Steve (who’s worked with me before) stayed indoors the whole time, occasionally peeking out through the kitchen blinds to see what havoc Seth and were wreaking now.

Sidebar: It is fast becoming common knowledge that Seth and I – when in close proximity – are, for lack of a better term, a cartoon. Heckle & Jeckle, Bugs & Daffy, Tweedle Dumb & Tweedle Dumber, Pinky & The Brain, The Animaniacs, etc. Add Steve into the mix, and this house becomes Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends.

Anyway…

As I mentioned before, on this now-mammoth project, no significant injuries were incurred. Considering the fact that it was, indeed, Seth and I, this should go down in the books as a modern miracle. I did, however manage to trip several times. Not over any objects to speak of. No, I tripped over those invisible air pockets that seem to appear out of nowhere. I have come to realize they are just dangling out there for the sole purpose of making otherwise cool people look completely stupid. Giving others, (Seth) a reason to point and laugh.

Seth, however, didn’t come out of this unscathed either. His brush with angst, while working on the brick patio, came in the form of his allergies hitting him like a ton of bricks (excuse the pun). It seems only fair to mention here that he has an overly dramatic heebie-jeebie to anything relating to snot or mucous. Understandable. Which is why, during times of his nose being especially runny, I would do my damndest to make him laugh, so as to see him make snot bubbles come out of his nose. His solution to this was, shall we say, rather creative.

Have a happy period…with ‘NOZE-TEX’.

So, we have finished the brick patio area as of yesterday. Now currently working on an adjacent garden with a fountain. Pictures of this project will be posted on the Photos section of this site soon.

I’d write more on this, but I’m in the middle of celebrating my mrffty blurff birthday. So stay tuned.

4 Responses to “Caution: Gay Construction Ahead – Part 12 – The Cartoon Not-Work”

  1. Kirk G said

    Happy Damn Birthday, from somebody who’s just gone over the 52 mark. You should squeel, you lil’ sh*t.
    PS: Don’t take any sh*t from that Seth-boy… Just smack him a good one and twist those clothes pins a quarter turn. He’ll straighten right up, trust me!

  2. Cameron said

    Good Grief. Gimme a break!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ya’ll are just too cute. I think I may have by now missed our birthday. Anyway, hope it was a good one. I must find out what was on the menu.

    Miss you much!!!!!

    C

    p.s. you could email SOMETIME. Unless I am unimportant to you now. I think I will just go out into the garden and eat worms.

  3. Daniel said

    For your information, that leaf looked suspiciously identical to a boa constrictor. And those two ant lions (while mostly harmless) are the creepiest and ugliest things put on this Earth since Ann Coulter. AND the brick flew out of my hand when I was attacked by that cricket.

    Okay fine, my testosterone levels dropped a few octaves during the insect attacks. But show me a man who’s not afraid to show his feminine instincts once in a while, and I’ll show you a man who’s never seen Queer Eye For The Straight Guy.

    Oh, and just so you know…I ain’t afraid of a little picture of me wearing an umbrella hat. So bring it on, Nancy Boy!! 🙂

  4. Seth said

    1. That picture does me NO justice! You forgot that I have a certain umbrella picture too!

    2. You also forgot to mention that during our little “Trading Spaces” mockery, that not only were you tripping over imaginary objects, but you were also SCREAMING like a little GIRL at the sight of bugs, spiders, and LEAVES! You even THREW a brick! LITTLE GIRL!

    By the time the project is completely finished, I’m sure one of us is going to hurt each other or ourselves. Don’t give up on hope just yet!

Leave a Reply

 
