The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

Back To The Hills

Posted by Seth on October 29, 2007

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything, so I thought it was time to update everyone on what’s been going on. The week before last into last week, I made a visit back to West Virginia for my best friend’s wedding. I was only there for a week, but it felt like I never left. I didn’t expect anything to have changed in nearly three months, but at least people were excited to see me!

Seeing everyone was well worth the trip. When I left, it was swift, abrupt, and unexpected. I didn’t get a whole lot of time to say goodbye to everyone or spend any “last moments” with anyone. Luckily people are accepting the fact that phones, planes, and planned trips ARE real!

It was more difficult than I expected fitting in time to see everyone. Most importantly, I got a lot of time with my mom, sister, and the assorted friends. Going to my mom’s physical therapy, drinking with my sister and best friends, and the wedding were the major time consumers of my week. Overall, it was a great week.

My sister and me.

The bride (Mary) and me.Most of my family.There were only a few occurrences where I regretted the trip. One was on the plane on the day I arrived. While descending into Columbus, something went wrong with the pressure in the cabin. The no smoking signs were flashing and all the sudden I realized, I couldn’t hear a damn thing! Not to mention the EXTREME sharp pains running through the center of my face! It literally felt like a knife was jabbed in my sinuses! If it weren’t for the fact that I love watching the city lights while landing, I would have noticed the gradual hearing loss. I thought I heard a radio or something, but it was the stewardess speaking loudly. I have no clue what she was saying, but it sounded like she was talking underwater. After I realized it was her, I listened for the engines, and they just sounded like oscillating fans. My first thoughts were, “OMG my head is going to explode!” Luckily, my ears popped, the dizziness went away, and I was good to go.

 

 

Another occurrence where I didn’t want to be alive is when I had to say goodbye, yet again, to my dogs. Two Chihuahua’s, Chiquita and Jose. The situation wasn’t great. Jessy and I were alone discussing what we were going to do with them. Neither one of us are in the position to take care of them right now. It REALLY sucks! I just gave up on being “the strong one” and just bawled my eyes out! It wasn’t pretty. The poor dogs went from looking like dry rats to drowned rats. It’s just not easy saying bye to your “children.”

Anyway, I had a wonderful time visiting and catching up with everyone. It was great seeing everyone again, but I was ready to come back to Kansas City and help take care of Daniel’s foot and a potential job.

I just have one regret about my trip, I didn’t get to stop and see my former co-workers until the night before I left. They’re family to me and were disappointed they didn’t get adequate Seth time. I got to see most of them though and that’s the important part. Plus I had to find out as much as I could about my predecessor. Turns out he seems like a royal douche bag! Just goes to show I’m irreplaceable!

This trip went well, but I’m happy to be back!

One Response to “Back To The Hills”

  1. Kirk G said

    Uh, Seth…. I think you mean, “what happened to my replacement”, not “predecessor”. Predecessor would be YOU… or do I not understand your intent???

Leave a Reply

 
