The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

Happy VD – Try Not To Catch It

Posted by Daniel on February 14, 2008

Happy VD!!!I just wanted to write a little this morning.  I know that I’ve been lazy lately.  At first, I could just blame the lazy part on my new job, but not that just seems stupid and lazy.

Over the past month or two I’ve been following, with much interest, the Democratic campaigns and, like many, have found myself suddenly bored with the whole process.  Delegates vs. Super Delegates.  Hillary vs. Obama.  

Yawn.

Maybe it’s that it’s been such a long campaign season.  Maybe I’m just campaigned out.  And If I get one more call from Obama’s campaign office I’m going to lose it.

I finally had to tell the nice old lady on the other end of the unsolicited phone call that I’m voting for Hillary…mostly because she’s left me alone!!!

And today’s Valentines Day.

Whoop-te-friggin’-do.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the holiday of love and all, but again, new job and all, it’s been hard to wrap my mind around much of the going’s-on in the world.  Gotten so bad with the fuzzy-mind thing that I’ve gone back to bowling as a sort of mental and physical release.

Yeah, and I’ve just read over this and can see just how fuzzy it really is.  Much like this post, my head is all over the place.

Anyway, so I go to buy something for Steve for VD.  While fighting my way into the card isle, I notice the pickin’s are pretty slim.  So, scanning over the left-overs my eyes naturally fix on something cartoonish that, when you read the front and open it and read the rest, has an actual big red balloon taped inside as the punchline.

I thought it said a lot, but the obvious double entendre sort of washed that out.  I also tried to avoid all those cutsie little VD plush toys that sing, or the scented candles blah-blah-blah.  I think they actually make that shit to be specifically tossed into the future garage sale bins!!

So I bought him a CD set with all the classic theme songs from all the big movies.  Sounds stupid, I know, but he really does like that kinda thing and I wanted it to be nice for him.

After all, he actually got me a heart-shaped box of chocolates and a NICE card.  Very Valentine’s Day-ish.

Tell me what I’m doing wrong here.  Am I becoming too cynical?

Well anyways…Happy Valentine’s Day to you all.  And I mean that with all my heart.

3 Responses to “Happy VD – Try Not To Catch It”

  1. Robguy said

    I didn’t think one could ever go wrong with the gift of chocolate.

  2. Kirk said

    Watsamatta U guys this week? Nobody to give you a squeeze? You two just seem filled with anger and vinegar about this VD stuff! Maybe you two should get together and improve your dispositions? Who knows, it could work out!!!!

  3. Seth said

    I don’t know if it’s confusion about the post or the fact that I’m REALLY bored here at work, but some how I know where you’re coming from and I feel your pain.

    Poop on VD and Obama!

    Yay for bowling and Hillary!

Leave a Reply

 
