The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

A Window Opens

Posted by Daniel on September 10, 2008

Oh, how I've missed Cubicle Prairie Dog Town!!

Oh, how I've missed Cubicle Prairie Dog Town!!!

When a co-worker (who is always a bit more on the cheery side than folks like us care to see early in the morning) chimed out, “Happy Hump Day, Daniel” (in that annoyingly chirpy voice she has), naturally I replied (in a way I’m famous for), “Okay.”

Little did I know, this truly would be a happy hump day indeed. For I knew that after I got off work at noon, I had to get shaved, showered and dressed up for an interview for an agency that places accountants. Big deal, I thought, as it looked no better as a prospect than the 1500+ (no kidding, that’s how many resumes I’ve sent out) rejections before.

I went in, had the interview, took the accounting test (aced it, by the way…yeah me) and within five minutes after completing the online test, was told I start work tomorrow at an actual company that doesn’t require me to say, “Would you like regular or curly fries with that?”

Now I just have to break the news to my now-ex boss who, even on a good day, seems stressed to the point of snapping. This is not a lady that takes bad news easily. And she’s really going to hate trying to find someone else desperate enough to do what I was doing for only $8 an hour. Not to mention all the burns I received…seriously, I now have visible scars from all the hot grease that was splashed on me by co-workers.

But I don’t want to concern myself on her reaction. What, she’s going to try to convince me not to take a job that pays better, has better hours, weekends off and benefits?

Trust me, I only LOOK stupid…I ain’t REALLY stupid.

3 Responses to “A Window Opens”

  1. Kurt said

    Go Seth Go!
    You can do it!

  2. Kirk said

    I agree. Send Seth in with a recommendation from you. Tell the ol’ boss that you are trying to help her and provide for a smooth transition by providing a good-working, dependable employee to help out. That should get him in tight with her, and then, when he finds something else, he can quit and pass the entry level job onto someone else. Just don’t get burned! Hot grease! We’ve all been there at one time or another, McBuddy….

  3. Scott said

    Congratulations!!! I’m happy for you dear and hope this works out to be what you want it to be. Why not just send Seth to Jack-In-The-Box and tell her that he is your stunt double .

Leave a Reply

 
