The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

No Religion, Like Theirs?

Posted by Daniel on October 30, 2008

Please read the insert below (from CNN) and then the opinions from both Seth (religious) and I (non-religious) that follow:

The already-contentious North Carolina Senate race took a brutal turn Wednesday after incumbent Sen. Elizabeth Dole released a television ad suggesting challenger Kay Hagan is “Godless.”

“A leader of the Godless Americans PAC recently held a secret fundraiser for Kay Hagan,” the 30-second ad says before showing clips from members of the group declaring God and Jesus do not exist.

“Godless Americans and Kay Hagan. She hid from cameras. Took godless money,” the ad’s narrator also says. “What did Kay Hagan promise in return?”

The ad ends with a female voice declaring, “There is no God.” That quote is delivered by someone who sounds like Hagan, but those words have never been said by the candidate.

The Dole campaign says it’s basing its charge on Hagan’s attendance at a fundraiser that was in the home of an advisor to the Godless Americans’ political action committee, a group that promotes rights for atheists.

In a conference call with reporters Wednesday, Hagan said she has never heard of the Godless PAC and said the fundraiser in question had more than 40 hosts, including Sen. John Kerry. She also said she has contacted her lawyers to issue a cease-and-desist order on the commercial.

“I am absolutely appalled at Elizabeth Dole’s vile tactics,” Hagan said. “This is politics of the worst kind, and I know it has been rejected by North Carolinians at every level. It is so unbecoming of a woman like Elizabeth Dole. This is a fabricated, pathetic ad.”

 

Hagan went on to strongly defend her faith: “I am a Sunday school teacher, I am an elder at First Presbyterian Church in Greensboro, my family has been going to this church for over 100 years, I have raised my children there. I have been involved in youth missions.”

A National Republican Senatorial Committee spokesman defended the ad.

“Kay Hagan recently attended a fundraiser held in the home of a founding member of the Godless Americans PAC,” Online Communications Director John Randall said. “Now Hagan believes it is unfair to associate her with the group even though the soiree raised her thousands of dollars in campaign cash. I guess money is more important to Hagan than principles.”

Recent polls suggest Hagan — a Democratic state senator from Greensboro who began the race at a major money disadvantage to Dole — is now leading the incumbent slightly with only days remaining before Election Day.

Daniel’s Reaction:

Atheism, as an explicit position, can be either the affirmation of the nonexistence of gods, or the rejection of theism. It is also defined more broadly as an absence of belief in deities, or nontheism.

Many self-described atheists are skeptical of all supernatural beings and cite a lack of empirical evidence for the existence of deities. Others argue for atheism on philosophical, social or historical grounds. Although many self-described atheists tend toward secular philosophies such as humanism and naturalism, there is no one ideology or set of behaviors to which all atheists adhere; and some religions, such as Jainism and Buddhism, do not require belief in a personal god.

The term atheism originated as a pejorative epithet applied to any person or belief in conflict with established religion. With the spread of freethought, scientific skepticism, and criticism of religion, the term began to gather a more specific meaning and has been increasingly used as a self-description by atheists.

Once again, it has come to this.  All too many times, those would-be God-fearing Christians (and by this, I am not including those Christians who DON’T use hate and judgement) are using religion to scare the weak-minded and uneducated for political gain.  Where never the two should mix, it’s becoming all too useful as a weapon for the GOP.

Let me say this to Dole and ALL the other maniacle religious zealots out there who think they hold the moral high ground…your judgement (if you subscribe to those edicts) is coming.  You will be standing at those pearly gates in front of the eye of a needle…and then the trap door below you will open to reveal your TRUE destination.  A word of advice…dress for a LONG HOT SUMMER…and don’t forget the SPF 1,000,000,000.

I never am surprised in politics, especially when those eager for a vote use religion as a litmus test.  But I am always astounded by those who claim to be upholding the Constitution seem to interpret it as badly and selectively as they do their bible.

Judge Not vs. Freedom of Religion.

I am what many would call an Atheist.  Some who know me say I’m more Agnostic.

Agnosticism (Greek: α- a-, without + γνώσις gnōsis, knowledge; after Gnosticism) is the philosophical view that the truth value of certain claims — particularly metaphysical claims regarding theology, afterlife or the existence of deities, ghosts, or even ultimate reality — is unknown or, depending on the form of agnosticism, inherently impossible to prove or disprove.

Either way, I do not hold myself to be religious in any way.  I see every day what being religious has been turned into…judgement, hate, bigotry, no imagination, war, violence, greed, etc.  Don’t try to chastise me for my opinion, it is being proven to be true every day…especially during this election cycle.

I’ve explained to Seth and MANY others that my “faith” is in people.  I am a firm believer in that people will, ultimately, do the right thing.  As with religion, my faith can (and does) get shaken and tested.  Elizabeth Dole proved that yet again.  But I believe in the goodness of people…and MY faith will be reaffirmed on November 4th.

Seth’s Reaction:

Mmmkay…first of all, I am VERY shocked and appalled by the trash Elizabeth Dole put in an ad. I’m actually very disappointed by her. For the most part, I always thought the Dole’s were the closest thing to REAL Republicans in recent history. I’ve never really heard or known of either Bob or Elizabeth to go to that kind of extreme.

Second, I firmly believe she just lost her election. When you pander to such an extreme, it’s an obvious sign of weakness and desperation! She knows that this is going to be the Democrats time in offices, and she’s just grasping at straws.

I am a Christian. I am proud to say I am. I never pigeon hole God, I never underestimate Him, and I never push him on anyone. If someone is willing to listen, then I will explain as much as I know to the best of my ability. I feel I do know Him well enough to say, it truely pisses me off when a politican uses and abuses God to get votes.

It’s people and occurances like this that make me feel ashamed to call myself a Republican. Yes, I am a Republican. But I’m not one of the ignorant ones that is going to tow the party line. I have a brain.

In her comment, Kay Hagen said, “I am a Sunday school teacher, I am an elder at First Presbyterian Church in Greensboro, my family has been going to this church for over 100 years, I have raised my children there. I have been involved in youth missions.” All of this can easily be proven with a few calls and a little typing away on the computer.

How is it in any way Christian of Dole to judge Hagen? Like these two, I wish I could say one thing to ALL politicians; Save us a lot of time and headache’s and read the First Amendment of the United States Constitution! Hypocrites…

One Response to “No Religion, Like Theirs?”

  1. Lottie said

    More to the point, why is “godless” or “atheist” even perceived as a smear? Dole is not only exploiting people’s fears, she’s exploiting their bigotry with her bigoted ad.

    I’m not at all impressed with Kay Hagan’s response either. She basically says, ‘Oh no I’m not godless/atheist and how dare you say such a horrible and hideous thing about me. I’m suing you now!’ The implication being that “atheist” is the worst thing any person could possibly be.

    It’s bigotry all the way around. Atheists are one of the last remaining groups in America that it’s socially acceptable to discriminate against and all this hoopla does an excellent job of illustrating that.

Leave a Reply

 
