The Tempest Online™

~ Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc. ~

Societies Incurable Cancer

Posted by Seth on June 8, 2009

My family is very conservative and religious. Coming from a small town in West Virginia, this is the norm. One thing that is not normal is being gay. In our “progressive” society, we are taught that gays are sinners, pedophiles, deviants, and a disgusting life form that the world should be rid of. Only if it was known how many closet cases there are you see at family gatherings, the super market, and at church. Are they not considered “sinners” because they’re not out on display for people to ridicule? No. Why? Because they’re the ones hiding behind their finger pointing.

Just because you don’t understand what it’s like to be something you’re not, does not give you the right to belittle, lie, spread rumors, and OH YEAH…JUDGE! How Christian is that to cast your judgment on others while claiming to be pure and perfect. John 8:7 He who is without sin cast the first stone!  But wait…that part of the Bible we’ll just forget exists. Why? Because it impedes our gossip time. Doesn’t God speak against gossip? Oh yeah….Whoever secretly slanders his neighbor, him I will destroy. Psalms 101:5

I have been told I “pick and choose what I want to believe” the Bible. Honestly, yes I do. Everyone does! How can you not? There are so many contradictions and implications in the Bible, it is impossible to follow it word by word. Conservatives and the religious claim they don’t, but they do! We have NUTS in this world that say “God hates fags!” or “AIDS is a gift from God!” Both are lies and cries of fear instilled in people by our politicians and evangelicals that “accept donations”. It’s not gays and lesbians that are making this country fail, it’s ignorance from people like Fred Phelps that preach hate. Look at Al Qaeda! How long is it going to take before conservative extremists start suicide missions into AIDS clinics and gay owned businesses? Oh wait…it’s already happening!

Why?! How did America go from “…Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” to “God Hates Fags!”

Homosexuality is NOT a choice! Who would choose to risk the love of their family, their reputation, friends, taking a chance on being beaten to death in the woods, or raped in a school lockerroom, risk their faith for fear that what they were raised to believe is wrong is “infecting” you. Why would someone choose to go through discrimination? It’s like saying “Hey! Wouldn’t it be fun to go back in time and be a slave working in fields being beaten by a whip?” No! That’s just as ignorant as “choosing” to be gay. I’ve been asked before, “How do you know you’re gay?” All I can say is, “How do you know you’re straight?” You don’t and neither do I. It’s not something that can be explained. Why should I have to explain it. I’m not a threat to anyone. I’m not out to “ruin” a family or “take their morals”. I don’t threaten your marriage, divorce threatens your marriage. The divorce rate is now at a staggering 50%! What is the #1 cause? Finances! Not gays!

Another “defense” from anti-gay groups is Sodom and Gomorrah. Don’t throw that in my face. God destroyed the cities because they wanted to gay rape two angels? I don’t think so. I’m pretty sure the cities were destroyed because…“Now this was the sin of your sister Sodom: She and her daughters were arrogant, overfed and unconcerned; they did not help the poor and needy. They were haughty and did detestable things before me. Therefore I did away with them as you have seen.” Ezekiel 16:48-50. Though I do NOT believe the cities were destroyed because of gays, I do believe there was fire and brimstone falling from the sky. I found it very fascinating when I watched the History Channel, yes I am nerdy, and they were running a documentary on the destruction of the cities. It was not so much a story in the Bible to teach people a lesson, but it was a pretty accurate recording of a geological event. I know it’s very hard for some people to connect the Bible to science, but it is possible. The documentary investigates the possibility that a volcanic eruption occurred at the time this story took place. It is very insightful and fascinating! I highly recommend it!

It saddens me to know that not only my family, but so many others are not willing to move outside their comfort zones to just think! Most of them are just afraid to be proven wrong about what they were raised to believe. It’s almost funny to me. I was always taught to pray for wisdom and learn. I remember his first sermon when our church moved to a new location. He was having trouble getting some of the church members to follow him to the new building. I’m can’t remember exactly why, but I believe it was simply because of the name on the sign outside. Anyway, he got most, if not all, the members to come to the first Sunday service. I remember his first sermons title was “Moving Outside Your Comfort Zone”. I don’t remember what he said in his sermon, but I love the title. I can almost say I kind of live by it. My thoughts are, how am I supposed to grow as a person or a Christian if I don’t have the willingness to learn or see someones point of view. I have to see other peoples points of view. It keeps me humble.

This is just something I’ve been dealing with for a while. I don’t understand how we are all supposed to grow as a race if we live by the instructions of people 2000 years ago. Gays didn’t threaten cultures back then and they don’t now. I just want to ask everyone how do gays and lesbians threaten your religion or your life? Gays aren’t going to convert you or steal your religion. No one can make you do something you don’t want to do. We’re not going to make you go gay and you’re not going to make us go straight. So many people are afraid gays are going to take God and morals away from them. Well, all I can say to that is I’m a gay Christian and you can’t take that from me.

2 Responses to “Societies Incurable Cancer”

  1. Daniel said

    Pat Robertson, aging televangelist, said something recently about gay marriage leading to sex with ducks. If you have a need for amusement, visit youtube and enjoy the amusing “sex with ducks” music video, created by two young women who wished to poke fun at Robertson.

    Or if you prefer, ask yourself why gay marriage seems always to lead down a slippery slope to bestiality, polygamy, pedophilia- not in the real world, but in the imaginations of Republicans over age 60, except for those like Dick Cheney who happen to have a gay family member. The first and third iems on that list are not consentual; the duck was not consulted, and neither was the child. Polygamy can perhaps be consentual? But in many publicized recent cases it clearly has NOT been, with underage females intimidated into silence in the face of Warren Jeffs and company, and in effect, raped.

    It reminds me of the oft repeated justification for the Vietnam War: if we retreat there, the communists will follow us back and soon we will be the only free country in the world. Well, we retreated, and what happened? The Chinese embraced capitalism, and the Soviet Union imploded. Perhaps not a good parallel, as I think that gay marriage is a victimless crime, whereas South Vietnamese did suffer greatly immediately following our withdrawal there.

    Show me the victims of gay marriage, that’s all I want. No ducks, please.

  2. Daniel said

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

 
